NaPoWriMo 2015 Post #6 Adventures on the MRT

image

Walking in the hot sun for 25 minutes
To the MRT station daily at noon
Surely can be considered a cardio workout
And an unwanted daily tanning session
I’ve grown much darker too soon
Oh the joys of public transportation
Trapped like a can of sardines
For the next 14 minutes
I bury my nose into my book
Desperately trying not to smell
The ponytail swishing lady in front
Or the overpowering cologne of the man behind
Oh I wish there were empty seats
So that I can have some space to breathe
Fat chance of that happening
When at the next station
Even more passengers push through
Front, back and centre, a tight squeeze
Finally the train stops at City Hall
And I couldn’t be more pleased
When everyone in front of me disembarks
And I get off the train with ease!

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2015 Post #6 Adventures on the MRT

  1. susanissima says:

    Oh, are you in Taipei? This sounds like such a familiar experience!

    • salsachica says:

      Hahaha no I live in Singapore, but I do agree it’s a very common experience in Taiwan and Hong Kong too!

Leave a Reply

