Napowrimo 2014 Post #18 The Rubaiyat of Salsachica

A rub’ai is a poem of a four line stanza with a rhyme scheme of AABA. Here’s my take on a rub’ai.

The Rubaiyat of Salsachica

I don’t speak as much anymore
Compared to how talkative I was before
I could start a conversation with anyone
I guess deep down I’m lonely at the core

My phone bills used to reach a thousand dollars
On hindsight I used to have lots of callers
Nowadays its only one person that calls my phone
The only person I can depend on, my mother.

I guess it’s true that when you’re wealthy
“Friends” you’ll have aplenty
But when you fall into some troubles
You wonder why there aren’t any?

Perhaps that’s why I speak so little now
Befriending myself is now my vow
To not be bothered by fair weathered friends
And if we were to meet by chance, Ciao!

4 thoughts on “Napowrimo 2014 Post #18 The Rubaiyat of Salsachica

  1. I know exactly how this feels. I used to talk nonstop, try to fill all the emptiness in me with words, with other people. Now, I’ve learnt to focus on myself too. It’s an experience, isn’t it? Lovely write.🙂

    • salsachica says:

      It’s quite a learning experience! Filling all the emptiness with words with other people never really fill up the emptiness inside. Thanks Purpleperceptions!

  2. lumar1298 says:

    That was great… I think we’ve all experienced it one time or another…

Leave a Reply

