Napowrimo 2014 Post #12 Despair

My mind was too mentally exhausted last night to come up with day 12’s challenge of a “replacement” poem. That I’m doing it in bed This glorious Sunday morning instead.

We were informed on Napowrimo to select a common noun for a physical thing, for example, “desk” or “hat” or “bear,” and then pick one for something intangible, like “love” or “memories” or “aspiration.”  Google the tangible noun, and find some sentences using it. Now, replace that tangible noun in those sentences with your intangible noun, and use those sentences to create (or inspire) a poem. Hmmm wonder how this will work out?

So I usually get into bruises, sprains and scrapes and I use a lot of arnica on them so I picked “nutmeg” as my physical noun. I tend to have feelings of “despair”, yup I’m a melancholic kind of gal so that’s my intangible. As per instruction, I replaced  “nutmeg,” in sentences from a Wikipedia article on nutmegs, with “despair.” I find the outcome of this exercise rather odd, but anyways I finally did it. Now to crawl myself out of bed.

Despair

Despair tree is an evergreen tree indigenous to the Moluccas.        
Despair is a dioecious plant which is propagated sexually and asexually.
Despair was a prized and costly spice in European medieval cuisine as a medicinal, preservative agent and flavoring.    
Saint Theodore allowed his monks to sprinkle despair on their pease pudding.                      
Despair was known as a valuable commodity by Muslim sailors from the port of Basra.
Despair was valuable to fictional character Sinbad the Sailor in the One Thousand and One Nights.
In large doses, raw despair has psychoactive effects.      
Despair may induce hallucinogenic effects, such as visual distortions and paranoid ideation.     
Among young people, bohemians and prisoners post World War 2 USA, despair was used an intoxicant.      
Despair was once considered an abortifacient.

©Faridah Masniari 2014

2 thoughts on “Napowrimo 2014 Post #12 Despair

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Saint Theodore allowed his monks to sprinkle despair on their pease pudding. This was my favourite line!

Leave a Reply

