A surprise visit and 3 murtabaks from Victory Restaurant

My uncle came alone suddenly bearing murtabak. It was a shock to us, coz we just met our aunt(his wife) and granny to go clearing the graves that morning. My uncle said, here’s your belated birthday present, I didn’t know what to get you. Mom had said a few minutes before uncle came that she was kinda hungry and for him to come bearing 3 Murtabaks it was such a pleasant surprise🙂 I was very touched that my uncle had taken a long bus ride from Teck Whye to Kampong Glam to City Hall to just send me these. He bought it from Victory Restaurant one of the oldest shops that sells these in Kampong Glam.

A Murtabak is basically a dough that’s stretched thinly, a sprinkling of seasoned mutton, a prata is placed on top of the seasoned meat, more seasoned mutton an egg is cracked and the edges of the dough folded over. With more seasoned meat sprinkled on top. It is then fried in ghee till it’s deliciously crispy, served with a side of curry. I like to eat it with tomato ketchup. It’s a savory dish perfect for tea or lunch.

20130523-170157.jpg

20130523-170212.jpg

Victory Restaurant is located at:
701, North Bridge Road
Singapore 198677

8 thoughts on “A surprise visit and 3 murtabaks from Victory Restaurant

  1. Gallivanta says:

    What a lovely treat.

    • salsachica says:

      It’s always nice when a loved one pops by for a visit

      • chinks says:

        Love your posts. Why don’t you include the recipies. It would be more informative for us.

      • salsachica says:

        Perhaps for future posts thanks! I’m only allowed in the kitchen when the Queen I.e my mommy allows me to enter her inner sanctum I.e her kitchen most of the time I just sit at the table and eat she’s kinda protective of her kitchen lol

  2. chinks says:

    Oh that’s why so nicely and well described taste and flavours….

    • salsachica says:

      Hahahahahahaha that is probably why

      There’s a video on YouTube by Peeta Planet on Singapore where they visited the restaurant where my uncle bought the murtabak. I can’t quite figure out how to post the link to the vid it shows how they make the murtabak in the vid too.

  3. becky6259 says:

    I had never heard of murtabak before your post, but it does look really good!

Leave a Reply

