Turning a year older

The clock struck twelve, and suddenly I’m a year older. Do I feel any different? Sombre I guess. Feeling rather alone maybe. Perhaps stress of how the business is going plays a part too. Suddenly, I’m bursting into tears for no reason. As the clock ticked closer and closer to twelve last night, I suddenly had an overwhelming sense of melancholy. Memories, stresses and emotions drowning me like a tsunami. I couldn’t sleep all night. Only closing my eyes around five am. I guess I’m emotionally exhausted. I just want to smile. Why can’t I?

20130514-204442.jpg
A big bowl of Mee Sua for a long life

This is how I celebrated my birthday, a breakfast of big bowl of Mee Sua, watching a 39 episode korean folktale drama with epic fighting scenes, lots of soft Korean bread and mugs of hot drinks. And a home cooked spread lovingly made by my mother. A birthday pangupah of Ayam Panggang, Glutinous rice , Beef Rendang, Hard-boiled egg with sambal tumis and a not so traditional Mussels cooked with Taucheo.

20130514-233116.jpg
Ayam Panggang

20130514-233133.jpg
Beef Rendang

20130514-233148.jpg
Sambal Tumis with hard-boiled eggs

20130514-233203.jpg
Glutinous rice soaked in turmeric and cooked in coconut milk

20130514-233214.jpg
Mussels stir fried with lots of onions and Taucheo

I know I am blessed, I know I am not alone, I know I am loved.

24 thoughts on “Turning a year older

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Does not sound like a Happy Birthday😦 Perhaps the Un Birthday Day will be nicer. It often is.

  2. EXACT Feelings!! I had on my last birthday!!😐

  3. mistylayne says:

    I’ve had birthdays like that. I usually do feel better the next day or the next week though. (((hugs)))

  4. Don Sansbury says:

    Most of us have had such feelings on some birthdays. They usually pass. I read in another blog not too long ago something to this affect: “while others were hoping to attain many things, all that someone prayed for was to be able to celebrate another birthday…” And if I may share a line from a Jamaican tune from years gone by: “Don’t worry…be happy!” Happy Birthday and happy blogging…

  5. U score again SC…and happy belated birthday…and remember…u are on your way to the next level…and no one is counting…it’s only a number…it does not define who you are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

