NaPoWriMo Post#29 Conversations overheard whilst in transit

Today’s day 29th of NaPoWriMo !! And the prompt for today was to write a poem that has at least five words in other languages. I’ve chosen to write about our (my brother and i) transit at Dubai International Airport (DXB) whilst enroute to New York (JFK).

Conversations overheard whilst in transit

20130430-014412.jpg
Dubai International Airport

Whilst waiting for my connecting flight to JFK
My brother and I sat with cups of coffee at Cosi DXB
All around us travelers of different nationalities
Busying themselves with their electronic gadgets
Whilst a young French mother sings a lullaby to her baby in her arms
“Dodo, l’enfant do”
The mother gazes tenderly at his cherubic face
Slowly swaying him from side to side

Two beautiful female students from Shanghai contemplating
What they wanted to eat at Paul’s
“Nǐ xiǎng chī shénme?” said the girl in the colorful Desigual dress
“Wǒ xiǎng chī Mille-Feuille!” replied her friend excitedly
Whoah! There’s Paul at DXB!
Maybe I should pick something up for the next leg of my journey?

A Spanish guy sitting by my brother,
Taps him on the shoulder and asks,
“¿Qué hora es?”
My brother without skipping a beat
Answers, “Lo Siento, pero yo no habla espanol”
He then looks at his watch, “It’s 5 am, son las cinco de la mañana”
Bewilderedly the guy says “Gracias!”

Sitting at a table across from me
A German guy apologizes to his girlfriend repeatedly
” Schätzen! Entschuldigen Sie bitte. Ich Liebe dich”
Ooh he’s in a load of trouble, she’s glaring at him angrily

Whilst a Turkish woman in a red dress sitting behind my brother
Says sweet nothings to her lover on Skype
“Seni okadar ozluyorumki kalbim sizliyor”
He looks pretty nerdy on the IPad, kinda my type

Compared to all the interesting conversations going around me
The one between my brother and I seem pretty normal
I asked my brother sitting right in front of me
“Adik nak kopi lagi?” says I
“Tak naklah, adik nak panini” says he

© Faridah Masniari 2013

7 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post#29 Conversations overheard whilst in transit

  1. Patrice says:

    Good stuff! Thanks for ‘Liking’ my work, it got me to your site and ‘Loving’ your writing!😀

  2. Gallivanta says:

    That is wonderful; a perfect expression of what happens in an airport waiting area. So what are you and your brother saying to each other?

  3. Liz says:

    Very entertaining although I got lost in some parts except the lullaby in French, I speak a little French.

    • salsachica says:

      Ok the Chinese conversation was “what would you like to eat?” and “I’d like to eat Mille-Feuille”

      The German was asking his girlfriend to forgive him that he loved her.

      The Turkish lady was telling her boyfriend that, “my heart is aching so much for missing you”

      Whilst the Malay convo with my brother was me asking him if he wanted another cup of coffee, to which he replied he didn’t want coffee but a panini instead

Leave a Reply

