NaPoWriMo Post #26 An Erasure of Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII

We’re almost to the end of NaPoWriMo , day 26! The prompt today is to do an erasure of a poem and create a new poem or leave the spaces where the words were. I selected Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII to do the erasure upon. I love this sonnet dearly (well the untranslated version) and if you’d like to read the poem in it’s entirety in English you can go here or for soneto XVII in it’s original state in Spanish.

20130426-234152.jpg
© Faridah Masniari 2013

An Erasure of Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII

I do not love as if you were topaz ,
or fire .
I love you as dark things are loved,
in secret, .

love that never blooms
in the light of hidden flowers;
love a solid fragrance,
from earth, lives in my body.

love without how, when, where.
love without complexities ;
I know no other way

than : I not exist, nor you,
your hand is my hand,
your eyes close as I fall asleep.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #26 An Erasure of Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Erasure poetry is fascinating. Excellent.

Leave a Reply

