NaPoWriMo Post #24 Self-Portrait

Tis day 24 of NaPoWriMo, and the prompt is to write a self-portrait poem, using words hidden in one’s name, by plugging one’s name into an anagram generator and use the words to compose a poem. I used my first and my middle names, I have six names altogether and that combination seemed to fit best into the generator.

Self-Portrait

A self-portrait of me Is not easy poetry
Shall I describe how my waist long hair is as black as night
Or that my skin so fair you can see the blue veins on my arms so white
My shin bears scars of youthful thrill seeking whilst skateboarding
My pear shaped body is just more of me to embrace tenderly
Visually that’s what you’ll see when you first look at me

Some people said that when they first met me
They thought I would look voluptuous in a sari
Just like from a long time ago, like a maharani
Whilst others say “Oh your face is pretty but…”
That’s just their way to say I’m way too heavy
They can say what they like, I’m happy to be curvy me

Some might say that my life is like a complicated drama
Can it be compared instead to a melancholic aria?
A love life that may drive other women to drink
Polyamory, treachery and infidelity
Four men, three atheists and a non-practicing Muslim
It sounds like the start of a bad joke don’t you think?

I don’t wait for men to buy me diamonds
Nor Hermes Birkin handbags
I don’t expect you to have a yacht in the marina
Nor an armada of airplanes
I only want someone to dance with me in the rain
Always truthful to me and love me as I am
Not treat me like a pawn in a chess game.

© Faridah Masniari 2013

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #24 Self-Portrait

  1. This is beautiful. Hope you find that person

  2. beckarooney says:

    I love the concept behind this piece, the fact it’s superbly written with feeling and wit makes it even better🙂 I might try this idea myself!🙂 x

    • salsachica says:

      Thanks so much, your words are too kind. Give it a try, the words that come out of the anagram were pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

