NaPoWriMo Post #23 A Year Ago Today

Today is the 23rd day of NaPoWriMo, and the prompt was to write a triolet. A triolet is an 8 line poem, written in iambic tentramenter ( 8 syllables per line), in the rhyming scheme of ABaAabAB. I seem to get most of my inspiration from my past, this person actually had the cheek to ask me to attend his wedding, saying that I will always be his closest friend, wtf, that was a year ago today. I guess I was too traumatized at that time to actually come up with an acidic retort, I borrowed a line from Adele’s “Someone like you” and told him “I wish nothing but the best for you too”. When actually inside, I felt like a hundred knives were stabbing my heart.

20130430-200715.jpg

A Year Ago Today

A year ago today, you wed
The third party is now your wife
How cruel you were, don’t you realize?
A year ago today, you wed
Asked for blessings for you and wife!
Wanted me to be in your life!
A year ago today, you wed
The third party is now your wife

© Faridah Masniari 2013

13 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #23 A Year Ago Today

  1. beckarooney says:

    Wow what a strong, heartfelt write! There’s no better way to let it out, I love the power in this🙂 x

  2. Heresnews says:

    Deep…it does cut the heart strings…no pun intended…just trying to show you that…I feel you!🙂 And thanks for stopping by SC🙂

  3. well, i hope ‘he’ reads your triolet! people often wield what they think is ‘the right thing to do’ rather cruelly. thank heavens for poetry.
    by the way, thank you for following 12degrees🙂

    • salsachica says:

      I hope he does, but I think that’s he’s too busy holidaying in Hawaii to care. Thanks for taking the time to read my very first triolet🙂

  4. Liz says:

    Thanks for liking my BLT salad, and for always liking my posts. I appreciate and you know I always love reading your poems!

    • salsachica says:

      I don’t eat bacon, I eat beef bacon or turkey bacon instead, so when I saw your blt salad, my mouth started to water hahaha thanks for posting yummy recipes! And I appreciate your visits and comments too!

  5. Hi,

    It is my privilege to be nominating you for The WordPress Family Award,

    http://anshu2koolman.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/wordpress-family-award/
    🙂

  6. What a lovely, simple poem — an amazing achievement so late in NaPoWriMo, which seems to get harder and harder as it goes. And many thanks to you for supporting my journey🙂

Leave a Reply

