NaPoWriMo Post #17 Bonjour

Today’s prompt on NaPoWriMo requires you to write a poem to say hello. A couple of days ago, Ladurée opened it’s doors on our shores for the very first time. This was how I felt, finally able to see eye to eye rows and rows of its beautiful macarons for the very first time.

Bonjour

I have been waiting anxiously
For this day to arrive
When you welcome me into
The famed inner sanctum of Parisian confections
A red velvet cord and a very long queue
Separates me from the view
Closer and closer I reach you
An attendant in a suit assists me
Crispy, chewy, French cookie
Brightly colored macarons
Lined the marble counter
A multitude of flavors
How can I ever decide
What flavor should I favor?
Salted caramel, pistachio, raspberry?
Whatever I pick will surely be extraordinary
I stared at the menu intently
“Oooh a gold leaf covered macaron!” said I excitedly
It was so hard to choose
But I settled on eight finally
In order to try everything I fancy
Lets add to the order accordingly
A box of pralines to try
A big box of truffles to savor slowly
A small block of rose nougat to share
Well the price tallied up dearly
Of course that was what one expects surely
When one wants try this delicate confectioneries
And that’s how I said Bonjour to Ladurée!

© Faridah Masniari 2013

20130418-004818.jpg

The queue at Ladurée on the 2nd floor boutique so early in the morning

20130418-004829.jpg

The queue at the Ladurée counter on the ground floor

20130418-004844.jpg

Bags of Goodies for my uncle and my sister from another mother, Nina

20130418-004856.jpg

Nina’s box of macarons

20130418-004919.jpg

My box of macarons

20130418-004938.jpg

Box of pralines

20130418-004950.jpg

Assorted Pralines

20130418-005021.jpg

Box of truffles and rose nougat

20130418-005034.jpg

Truffles

20130418-005045.jpg

Rose Nougat

15 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #17 Bonjour

  1. Liz says:

    What a beautiful poem, what a lovely confectioner, never heard of the chain, but I sure do want to spend a day, browsing and eating. Thanks for always stopping by my favourite pastime. I always appreciate your petite comments! have a pleasant day…

    • salsachica says:

      Thank you!🙂 Hi Liz, whenever I come by your page I’m usually at a loss for words coz I’m usually just mesmerized by the photo especially of that poppy seed cake, I can’t find any poppy seeds in Singapore and I love them in cakes, bagels and breads when I lived in Australia. So when I saw that poppy seed cake I had a momentary loss of speech and mind.😀

      • Liz says:

        haha it tasted great. Nice to know you love them too. I love your blog. Always pass some time here browsing and reading your beautiful poems!

      • salsachica says:

        Awww you are too kind Liz! Thank you I really appreciate you visiting🙂

  2. Mouthwatering! Great stuff.

  3. barriesaxxy says:

    My feelings exactly whenever I walk into a sweet shop.

  4. Elise says:

    Beautiful words and images of yumminess that make me swoon. Oh, sweet macaron, be my delicious pleasure, this afternoon. *giggle* I am so enjoying your writing.

  5. becky6259 says:

    Great poem and luscious pictures — makes me hungry!

Leave a Reply

