NaPoWriMo Post #14 Queen of Hearts

Today the challenge for NaPoWriMo is to write a pesona poem, a poem of someone that’s not particularly me.

Queen of Hearts

I have been greatly maligned
By Alice, that disrespectful child
“Fat, pompous, bad-tempered old tyrant” she calls me
When all I’ve been is the symbol of my monarchy
And she claims that it’s all tyranny!

I am not fat just big boned you see
There is more to love of me
Was it wrong for me to be angry?
“Off with her head” was my decree

All I asked my gardeners to grow
Were my gorgeous red roses
In all my rose bushes
Was it wrong for me to be furious?
When I saw all of those sickly white flowers

When I play my favorite game of croquet
The flamingoes that I use as mallets
Keep moving their heads during the game
How can I ever hit the prickly balls
When the hedgehogs keep rolling away
Wouldn’t you be frustrated too?
When you miss every time you aim
And the results always remain the same

© Faridah Masniari 2013

11 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #14 Queen of Hearts

  1. Hi! You’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award! go here for all the info:

    http://anshu2koolman.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/the-liebster-award/

  2. Heresnews says:

    Kudos!🙂 And thanks for visiting my ‘place’.

  3. Pushpee says:

    lovely…nice excuse for losing temper…its no fault of her, of course i understand :))

  4. Love this, beautifully written without the opium that Lewis used while writing the original!

Leave a Reply

