NaPoWriMo Post #12 The Seventeen Years Crush

Tis the twelfth day of NaPoWriMo and the prompt suggests that we write about things you’d like to say to someone but never would.

The Seveenteen Years Crush

I first noticed you when you walked into my shop, 17 years ago
I thought that you had crazy hair, a super long Afro
I organized a skate competition, just to see you up close
I gazed at you that day and night,
You noticed and gave me a smile so bright

When I found out that we went to the same polytechnic,
I always organized my group project meetings to be where you sit
Saturdays, I’d go to Tower Records, just to pass by the spots you hung out
You waved and smiled when we crossed paths
I swooned each time without a doubt

And then one day I didn’t see you at school
’twas because you had enlisted
A boy had become an army man
Your lovely locks shorn off, how my heart melted

For years I did not know where you were,
Till one day I saw on tv that you had become a star
I watched everything that you did
Cried a little when you got hitched

My family and friends thought that my mind had flipped
When I found out the news of your divorce,
I laughed, jumped and skipped

I wish I could tell you how I feel
How talented I thought you were
How pretty you looked in drag
How funny you are on twitter
And how hot I think you are still

But my uncle who you work with sometimes
Had spilled the truth to you
My 17 years of one sided affection
I guess it’s time is due
Alas, you and I are never meant to be
For you will always be my crushee!

© Faridah Masniari 2013

12 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #12 The Seventeen Years Crush

  1. Nancy Barth says:

    aw, that’s sweet!

  2. chinks says:

    Soo nice!!! Divorce part was funny…

  3. chinks says:

    Hey any body would love it, laugh and be happy;) just I kind of imagined it and it was funny. Love coming back to your blog time and again.

  4. Mie Ululani says:

    i admire and adore your honesty! oh one-sided crushes…very evocative writing!

    • salsachica says:

      Lol I for the life of me I cannot directly tell my crush all that, I’d appear too much like an obsessed stalker hahahaha maybe one day …..

      thank you Mie!😀

Leave a Reply

