NaPoWriMo Post #6 Adieu

Today it’s the 6th day of NaPoWriMo, and the prompt is to write a valediction, a poem about farewells. I dedicate today’s poem to my gold high heels that has served me well for so many years in my latin ballroom dance exams and nights of salsa.

20130407-183417.jpg

Adieu

Adieu to you
my dancing shoes
Gold glittery heels
3 inches high

Adieu to you
My salsa companion
Shimmy, spin, merengue
All night long

Adieu to you
My sweet memories
Step by step beside him
Once upon a time

Adieu to you
My precious heels
Wrapped In the box
To dance no more

© Faridah Masniari 2013

6 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #6 Adieu

  1. geezergirl1 says:

    I hope you take them out and dance again..

  2. greenlifenow says:

    Thank you for liking my poem Silence and rain. “Adieu” is so cool!
    See you soon!

  3. marymtf says:

    Just lovely. Gold high heels, I bet it was hard to give them up. And how exotic latin ballroom dancing and nights of salsa sounds.
    I gave up wearing high heels when I was pregrnant with my first child and somehow have never gone back to them. These days I wear only chunky heels, which is hard because I am only five foot two.🙂

    • salsachica says:

      Hahaha I’m 5 foot 2 too! Vertically challenged but I’m sticking to flats and practically live in Toms slip ons🙂

Leave a Reply

