NaPoWriMo Post #4 Onslaught of Sounds on the Sleepless

Tis day 4 of NaPoWriMo ! Today’s prompt suggests to use one of science fiction writer Iain M. Banks’ oddly poetic spaceship names that often appear in his books as a title or create your own banks-spaceship-like name.

Onslaught of Sounds on the Sleepless

I lie awake in the darkness
Another night, sleepless
Listening to the sounds
Gates banging
Doors slamming
Bikes braking
Owls hooting
Dogs howling
Chinese opera singing
Suddenly, it’s all quiet
Like a switch is turned off
I lie awake in the darkness
Unfortunately, still sleepless

© Faridah Masniari 2013

11 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Post #4 Onslaught of Sounds on the Sleepless

  1. Nancy Barth says:

    Oh, I can relate to that!

  2. beautiful poem…and have a good sleep tonight…lol.

  3. Mie Ululani says:

    hey Salsachica! thank you for stopping by my blog =). you captured those nights so perfectly. i hope you can fall asleep easier these days…i try keeping my eyes wide open for as long as I can and they just close naturally…leading (sometimes) to sleep haha.

    • salsachica says:

      Hi Mie, no worries, I enjoyed your haikus. Thanks for reading my post, as of now it’s 2.27am and I’m pretty much wide-eyed haha hopefully I’ll fall asleep soon😉

Leave a Reply

