NaPoWriMo 2013

20130403-103339.jpg

I read this morning on one of those e-mails that WordPress sends out that April is the National Poetry (Writing) Month, or NaPoWriMo for short. During the month of April, should one chooses, one can write a post for everyday of the month. I am not that diligent, so one will do whatever one can emote and translate into words onto the posts. Check out the NaPoWriMo page for prompts on what to write.

Without a cup of caffeine, I declare that it’s too early in the morning to think of something interesting or eloquent to write. Instead I’ll share a piece that I wrote years ago. I have had insomnia since I sat for my O’Levels decades ago. And i have always struggled at night to fall asleep. I wrote this whilst I was still living in Perth.

Dreams

Waiting for darkness to envelope me
To beckon me into its embrace
To fall onto a mattress of marshmallows
To lay my head onto the cloudlike pillows
And slowly drifting off into a sweet and long slumber

Waiting for what dreams may come
To frolic amongst the waves
To lie on the sands
To relax
And awakening to the rays of the morning sun

Waiting for that dream I had dreamt
To feel your kisses
To recall the warm embrace
To be slapped by the brutal truth
And realise you weren’t really you

Waiting for sleep to come
To close my eyes
To forget the sadness
To ignore the pain
And dream sweet dreams as I sleep

11/7/2004 © Faridah Masniari 2004

7 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2013

  1. Lila says:

    I was late on the bandwagon. Thanks for explaining.

  2. fefianist says:

    Great poems, I love it.. Keep posting🙂

  3. Shirley says:

    Your Dreams poem fits nicely with napowrimo’s challenge to write a poem on “un-love”–whatever that might mean. Nice twist, toward the end!

Leave a Reply

