To be awaken by the aroma of freshly baked pies and cheese muffins

Saturday mornings, whilst others in Singapore enjoy a lie in, I was awaken by the intoxicating scent of baked goods. Happiness! Mommy had made barbecue beef pies for brekky as well as piping hot über cheesy muffins! Mommy adapted Nigella Lawson’s Cheese Muffin recipe by not following the quantity of cheese used and using 3 types of cheese, Parmegiano Reggiano, Mozzarella and Cheddar. Yummy! I’ve got quite a few left for lunch, it’s gonna be perfect with a bowl of mushroom soup, clam chowder or lobster bisque.

20130330-112457.jpg

Mommy’s barbecue beef pies were so full of beefy goodness! Smoky, sweet and so filling! When I was studying in Perth, there was this company called “Jester’s Pies” along Hampden Road. It wasn’t halal and I never tried it but always imagined what it would have tasted like coz my mates couldn’t get enough of it. The thing about my time in Perth, was characterized by the fact that I was vegetarian at the time. In college when pies were served for lunch, I’d be given those vegetarian hand pies. No me gusta! I usually end up eating salads instead! Hmm well that probably explains why I was slightly slimmer then and not so now. hahaha The pies I made in college were usually of the dessert variety, pecans, cherries or apples. So to finally try an individual beef pie, I’m super satisfied!

20130330-112516.jpg

2 thoughts on “To be awaken by the aroma of freshly baked pies and cheese muffins

  1. krococo says:

    Those look delicious!!🙂

Leave a Reply

