Jemput-jemput Pisang

My parents never came to visit me whilst I was studying in Perth. When mom and grandma finally did come over, it was during convocation week. I guess all the times my mates family came over and spent time with them, I was a tad envious and wished my family was there too.

Anyways when mom and grandma came, they started cooking on the get go. I was a senior resident advisor in Trinity a residential college in Perth, I had the choice of spacious rooms, but I chose to remain to my good old Hull Wing where a beautiful old oven and stoves resided. I had two rooms, a tiny room and another room filled with all sorts of spices and herbs and belacan which i used as a lounge.

Mom and grandma cooked up a storm that week in Perth. Cooking Asian home style favorites like Assam Pedas Ikan, Singgang Serani, Sambal Tumis, Fried Vermicelli and the most memorable of all the jemput-jemput udang(prawn fritters), that week my mates were always in my lounge room eating. We’d all pile up on the mattresses on the floor and watch bollywood movies on my Compaq Laptop. Memorable times! Home cooked food in a long while soothes homesickness. One of my kids Raj, still can’t forget mom’s jemput-jemput udang and when he finally came down to Singapore, he was hugging and gushing to my mom how he missed those jemput-jemput.🙂

Mom made jemput-jemput pisang (banana fritters) today, and it made me remember all these memories and how much I missed my friends.

20120413-120447.jpg

2 thoughts on “Jemput-jemput Pisang

  1. Evelyn says:

    That is one of my favorite foods growing up!!! *sigh* Wish I could eat it again. I would never cook it here – my entire apartment will be oily. Lol.

    • salsachica says:

      Yeah it does use up a lot of oil, my mom used a whole bottle of olive oil to fry the jemput-jemput when she made them in Perth. Left the kitchen pretty oily😀 .

Leave a Reply

