Bazaar Ramadan at Geylang Serai

Ok so Ramadan’s over, and Syawal is here. But my brother took these pictures  while I was sleeping whenever they go to the bazaar. This year, I guess I don’t really feel the Hari Raya spirit. Too many sad things happened during Ramadan. Too many revelations that I don’t wish to have found out. Basically it was a sick, sad month for me. During Iftar even, I don’t even feel like eating, I’d eat a bit of bread, and that’ll be it, else I’ll be puking everything out. Its kinda weird to have not eaten all day and to be able to puke so much.   So anyways, after terawih, the whole family would go to Geylang to buy snacks. I would be in the van sleeping whilst they traipse the stalls for snacks. A recurring snack they keep buying from day 1 was Roti Boyan. A kind of curry puff, square shaped dough with an egg and potato filling eaten with sambal tumis. Then it will be Air Kathira, with small biji selasih and milk which is only available during Ramadan. Followed by Jelly Coconut, they scoop out the flesh of the coconut and fill it with agar-agar and the flesh of the coconut. Kinda cooling. Another family fave is the vadeh  and keropok lekor. I remember having the best ones from Trengganu when I was a teenager gallivanting with my mates by bus all over over Malaysia. And the only thing adik and I agree upon every time is okonomiyaki, takoyaki balls of octopus, eaten with mayo . No more bazaars no more late night munchies. It’s all back to “normal” again, but then again what is normal?

Vadeh

Vadeh

Jelly Coconut

Jelly Coconut

Keropok Lekor

Keropok Lekor

roti boyan special

roti boyan special

Roti Boyan and its contents

Roti Boyan and its contents

Roti Boyan with sambal tumis

Roti Boyan with sambal tumis

Air Kathira

Air Kathira

Takoyaki

Takoyaki

Leave a Reply

