NaPoWriMo 2014 Post #24 These four walls

When I read this prompt today, the first thing that came into my mind was Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”, Act Five Scene 1. :) but back to today’s prompt, well yesterday’s since it’s 3:08am. And finally I’ve caught up with my delayed posts! Yay! Here’s the best I could come up with:

These four walls
These four walls surround my home
Red bricks and cement stand alone
For more than two decades 
They stood firm and tall
Kept intruders away 
And strange hawkers at bay
But now it’s slowly crumbling down
Cracks formed in corners
Spread out like a spider web
What was once painted pristine white
Now has moss and grey mold
They’ve gotten too old.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2014 Post #24 These four walls

  1. tara linda says:

    So wonderful how you’ve kept on with the poetry prompts!! I’ve been a little rebellious this year, in finding my own ;) Thank you for your inspiring efforts. ;)

    • salsachica says:

      Awww thank! Its just a way to keep on writing no matter how quirky or difficult the prompts sounds, been too lazy to think of my own hahaha I think you’re the one that’s amazing to choose to rebel and discover on your own. Rebelling rocks!

  2. Liz says:

    I was never any good in poetry in school but I’ve enjoyed reading it. Nice and short and not complicated. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

